Delaware Aquaculture Information Contacts

The following individuals can assist you with questions or can provide additional information pertaining to aquaculture in Delaware.

Sea Grant MAS | DelState | Department of Agriculture | Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control (DNREC) |  Agricultural Research Service (ARS) - US Department of Agriculture     |  Natural Resources Conservation Service (NCRS) - US Department of Agriculture

Online Delaware Code

DELAWARE AQUACULTURE ACT    TITLE 3    Agriculture    Department of Agriculture    CHAPTER 4.


Delaware Sea Grant Marine Advisory Service

College of Earth, Ocean and Environment
Hugh R. Sharp Campus
University of Delaware
700 Pilottown Road
Lewes, DE 19958
Phone: (302) 645-4346
Fax: (302) 645-4007

Conducts outreach education programs and applied research in marine-related areas, including aquaculture, business management, seafood marketing, and consumer education.

John W. Ewart, Aquaculture/Fisheries Specialist
Phone: (302) 645-4060
Email:ewart@udel.edu

Doris T. Hicks, Seafood Technology Specialist
Phone: (302) 645-4297
Email: dhicks@udel.edu

Joseph G. Farrell, Marine Resource Management Specialist
Phone: (302) 645-4250
Email: jfarrell@udel.edu

Index


Delaware State University (DSU)

Department of Agriculture & Natural Resources
1200 N. Dupont Highway
Dover DE 19901-2277
Phone: (302) 857-6436
Fax: (302) 857-6455

DSU Aquatic Sciences
DSU Newsletter "Aquatic Sciences"  Aquaculture and fisheries research, extension and teaching at Delaware State University

Dennis McIntosh, Ph.D.
Assistant Research Professor & Extension Specialist - Aquaculture
Delaware State University
1200 N. DuPont Highway
Dover, DE 19938
Phone: (302) 857-6456
Fax: (302) 857-6402
E-mail: dmcintosh@desu.edu

Gulnihal Ozbay, Ph.D.
Research Assistant Professor
Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources
Delaware State University
Dover, Delaware 19901
Phone: (302) 857 6476
Fax: (302) 857 6455
E-mail: gozbay@desu.edu

Dewayne Fox, Ph.D.
Fish Ecology/Biology, Aquatic Ecology
Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources
Delaware State University
Dover, Delaware 19901
Phone: (302) 857-6436
Email: dfox@desu.edu

Grant S. Blank
Aquaculture Research Technician
Dept. of Agriculture & Natural Resources
Delaware State University
1200 North Dupont Hwy.
Dover, DE 19901
Phone: (302) 857-6405
Fax: (302) 857-6402
Email: gblank@desu.edu

USDA Agricultural Research Service Oyster Virology Laboratory

Dr. Gary P. Richards, Microbiologist/Lead Scientist
Agricultural Research Service
United States Department of Agriculture
Room 29
James W.W. Baker Center
Delaware State University
1200 DuPont Highway
Dover, DE, 19901-2277
Phone: (302) 857-6419
Fax: (302) 857-6451
E-mail: grichards@errrc.ars.usda.gov
           grichard@desu.edu

USDA Agricultural Research Service Microbial Safety of Seafoods

Index


Delaware Department of Agriculture

Edward Kee, Secretary

2320 South DuPont Highway
Dover, DE 19901
Phone: (302) 739-4811 1-800-282-8685 (in state)
Fax: (302) 697-6287

Bob Moore, Exotic Species Specialist
Phone: (302) 739-4811
Email: BOBM@smtp.dda.state.de.us

Index


Department of Natural Resources & Environmental Control (DNREC)

David Small, Secretary

89 Kings Highway 
Dover, DE 19901 
Phone: (302) 739-9000

Manages and protects state natural resources through regulations and permits for surface and groundwater use, finfish propagation, shellfish leases, wetlands, wastewater, and solid waste. Provides pond consultations for problems associated with fish populations and aquatic weeds (Fisheries Section).

Division of Watershed Stewardship 

89 Kings Highway

Dover, DE 19901

 

Watershed Assessment and Management Section 

Program Administrator: John W. Schneider

Phone: 302-739-9939

Email: John.Schneider@state.de.us

Delaware's Shellfish Program

Delaware’s Shellfish Program is responsible for protecting public health by minimizing the risk of food borne illness due to the consumption of shellfish. Delaware is a member of the Interstate Shellfish Sanitation Conference (ISSC) and therefore is required to follow all guidelines set forth by the organization. The ISSC is made up of state, federal and industry representatives, which work in cooperation with the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) to ensure compliance of state programs with the National Shellfish Sanitation Program's (NSSP) Model Ordinance.

For additional information, contact:

Debbie Rouse, Program Coordinator

Phone: 302-739-9939

Email: Debbie.Rouse@state.de.us

 

Michael Bott, Environmental Scientist

Email: Michael.Bott@state.de.us

Phone: 302-739-9939

Division of Fish and Wildlife

Fisheries Section

Program Administrator: David Saveikis

Phone: 302-739-9910
Email: David.Saveikis@state.de.us

John Clark
Environmental Program Administrator
Phone: 302-739-9914
Email: John.Clark@state.de.us

Marine and Shellfish
Stewart Michels, Environmental Program Manager

Phone: 302-739-9914
Email: Stewart.Michels@state.de.us

Freshwater and Anadromous Fish
Mike Stangl, Environmental Program Manager

Phone: 302-735-2960
Email: Michael.Stangl@state.de.us

Other DNREC Division of Fish and Wildlife Contacts


Natural Resources Conservation Service (NCRS) - US Department of Agriculture

State Conservationist: Elesa K. Cottrell
Suite 101, 1203 College Park Drive
Dover, Delaware 19904-8713
(302)678-4160
FAX: (302)678-0843
Email: elesa.cottrell@de.usda.gov

District Conservationist: Thomas Wiltbank
DOVER FIELD SERVICE CENTER
3500 S. duPONT HIGHWAY
DOVER, DELAWARE 19901
TELEPHONE - (302)697-2600
FAX - (302)697-0670
Email: Thomas.Wiltbank@de.usda.gov

District Conservationist: John Lakatosh
NEW CASTLE FIELD SERVICE CENTER
6 PEOPLES PLAZA
NEWARK, DELAWARE 19702
TELEPHONE - (302)832-3100
FAX - (302)834-0783
Email: John.Lakatosh@de.usda.gov

District Conservationist: Timothy Garrahan
GEORGETOWN FIELD SERVICE CENTER
408 N. duPONT HIGHWAY
GEORGETOWN, DELAWARE 19947
TELEPHONE - (302)856-3990
FAX - (302)856-4381
Email: Timothy.Garrahan@de.usda.gov


http://darc.cms.udel.edu/images/home_blue_icon.gifDARC Home [Libraries | DE Contacts | Education/Training | Publications | DE Links | Mid-Atlantic Aquaculture | Aquatic Science Ed. | Other Links | Internet Search | Top of Page

http://darc.cms.udel.edu/colorlin.gif

Last Updated: 21 December 2015

Direct all questions or comments to John W. Ewart ewart@udel.edu
http://darc.cms.udel.edu/images/sea.gif